Delta Kappa Epsilon is one of the oldest North American fraternities with 52 active chapters in the United States, Canada, and now two colonies in the United Kingdom. DKE has a network of over 40,000 living alumni across the world, with brothers who have gone on to shape it; including five of the 44 United States Presidents, the first directors of the CIA, and the Peace Corps, officials in the countries of Japan, Cuba, China, and the USA. The DKE flag has been to the moon, with Brother Alan Bean, and also to the North Pole, with Brother Robert Peary. Dekes have earned 2 Nobel prizes and 6 Pulitzer prizes. Bausch & Lomb, Southwest Airlines, Time Magazine, Chase-Manhattan Bank, and Federal Express were all started by DKE alumni.

As Gerald Ford put it, "It's no coincidence that five U.S. presidents are DKE alumni.  Whether or not you agree with their politics, these men gravitated towards influential positions and made a difference in the leadership of the United States."


Delta Kappa Epsilon was founded at Yale College in 1844 by 15 men of the sophomore class disaffected by the existing houses on campus. They established a fellowship "where the candidate most favored was he who combined in the most equal proportions the gentleman, the scholar, and the jolly good fellow."

Along with those three qualities that the founders looked for in candidates, they also created the Objects of Delta Kappa Epsilon, that members hold themselves to:

The Objects of Delta Kappa Epsilon are:

The Cultivation of General Literature and Social Culture, the Advancement and Encouragement of Intellectual Excellence, the Promotion of Honorable Friendship and Useful Citizenship, the Development of a Spirit of Tolerance and Respect for the Rights and Views of Others, the Maintenance of Gentlemanly Dignity, Self-Respect, and Morality in All Circumstances, and the Union of Stout Hearts and Kindred Interests to Secure to Merit its Due Reward.

With the expansion of DKE in the United Kingdom, the fraternity now has colonies at the University of Oxford, and the University of Edinburgh. Below is a partial list of schools that DKE would like to expand to in the UK and Ireland:

  • University of Cambridge
  • London School of Economics and Political Science
  • University College London
  • Imperial College London
  • King's College London
  • University of St. Andrews
  • University of Glasgow
  • Trinity College

If you are interested in bringing Delta Kappa Epsilon to your school, please email