Iota Wins the Lion Trophy for the 2014-2015 School Year

The International Headquarters of the Delta Kappa Epsilon Fraternity is proud to announce the Iota Chapter - located on the campus of Centre College in Danville, Kentucky - as the winner of the Lion Trophy for the 2014-2015 school year. The Lion Trophy is the highest honor that can be achieved by a ∆KE chapter and is awarded annually to the chapter judged to be best in overall performance based on the categories of Chapter Operations, Philanthropy and Service, Scholarship, and Leadership.

Presentation of the trophy is made at the International Convention or at another suitable occasion and is accompanied by an embossed certificate. This year the trophy was awarded at the 2015 DKE International Leadership Summit, which was held on the University of Texas-Austin campus from August 6th-9th. Iota was represented at this event by active brothers Matthew Nisbet, Lucas Brooks, Clayton Trette, Grant Markwell, and Ian Ennis. 

The Iota Chapter has won the Lion Trophy twice in the past, first in 1975 and then again in 2013, but this year’s victory represents the chapter's first ever outright claim to the trophy because the prior victories were both ties for 1st place with another chapter. 

The trophy itself is an original Tiffany-designed silver cup that was a gift of the Fraternity in 1894 to William Boyd Jacobs, the last surviving founder of ∆KE. It was returned to the Fraternity after his death in 1905 by Brother Jacobs' daughter, and is now presented each year to the winning chapter. A chapter must submit a detailed application in order to be considered for this prestigious award.